iFi ZEN Signature Set HFM review

Welcome to my review of the iFi ZEN Signature Set HFM which retails for £599.

The set consists of the ZEN Signature DAC v2 and Signature Can HFM. In addition a high quality 4.4mm balanced cable is included. Other quality accessories are included, all shown in the video review. iFi Audio provided combo sets for Sennheiser HD 6XX and Meze headphones as well.

Key Features

– iFi ZEN DAC Signature V2 + iFi ZEN CAN Signature HFM + 4.4mm Balanced Cable
– HFM Combo package has an unique Active EQ curve that brings out the best in the HIFIMAN range of headphones.
– ZEN Signature DAC V2 is a true-differential balanced circuit design, upgraded circuit components and short, direct signal paths for optimal signal purity.
– Bit-perfect PCM (up to 32-bit/384kHz), native DSD (up to DSD256) and DXD.
– 16-core XMOS chip, rather than the original 8-core, means it is now a full MQA decoder rather than a renderer.
– Pair of RCA sockets for single-ended connection to an amp, plus a Balanced 4.4mm output.
– Switch for variable or fixed outputs.
– ActivEQ setting combines active and passive components to create a specific EQ curve to suit HIFIMAN planar headphones. Active EQ can be switched off so other headphones can be used.
– Xpace included
– PowerMatch – four gain options in six dB steps – 0dB, 6dB, 12dB and 18db.
– 1600mW (7.2V) into 32 ohms from the single-ended output, with 15V+ available to loads of 600 ohms or more through the balanced output.
– iFi 4.4mm to 4.4mm cable employs heavy OFHC continuous cast copper and silver matrix conductors with a total thickness of 14AWG for the best signal transfer.
– The 4.4mm to 4.4mm cable construction is a custom helix design, minimised both in capacitance and inductance. Intrinsic shielding is provided by minZ™ helix construction. This protects the cable from RFI and EMI noise.

Audio Music Test Tracks List

– Roxy Music – True to Life (Remastered)
– Leonard Cohen – In My Secret Life
– Massive Attack – Unfinished Sympathy (2012 Mix Master)
– Eric Clapton – Layla (Acoustic Live at MTV Unplugged)
– Axel F – From Beverly Hills Cop
– Natalie Merchant – Ophelia
– CeeLo Green – Bright Lights Bigger City
– Stevie Ray Vaughan – Tin Pan Alley
– K.D. Lang – Constant Craving
– Nigel Kennedy – The New Four Seasons
– Hans Zimmer – Mountains

Video Review


Fantastic sound quality and dynamics, make this combo set a winner. Highly Recommended. 9.3/10.

Useful Links

Amazon – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B09BCQL7YC

iFi Audio – https://ifi-audio.com/products/zen-signature-set-hfm/


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.